The Land of the Wu 巫

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Multiple Voices

Leave a comment

 

https://courses.edx.org/courses/course-v1:HarvardX+HDS3221.3x+2T2016/courseware/79f3bb5e0c4447e69fca447b272f1f4f/f08dfeb424f84bf7b3d9f8452d8fcc0f/

  1. I identify and practice within the Korean Buddhist tradition.
  2. I have been practicing Buddhism for almost 28 years now.
  3. I’ve been practicing Soko Gakkai Nichiren Buddhism for 42 years.
  4. I came to Buddhism in a most unusual way.
  5. Once I encountered Buddhism it’s become the thing in my life
  6. that makes everything make sense.
  7. As a Buddhist monk coming from Sri Lanka,
  8. and having been a monk for 15 years, for me it’s a way of life.
  9. To deal with various forms of suffering that we create in life.
  10. The Buddha taught that there is suffering in life.
  11. At the same time, he taught that there is happiness in life.
  12. It means being able to take control of my life.
  13. Redirect my emotions.
  14. Sustain energy to pursue my goals.
  15. To both be called into relationship, and then
  16. to see the capacious of those relationships
  17. as they relate to forgiveness and love.
  18. And to realize that we can be called in to challenge and not meet it.
  19. And that that’s OK.
  20. That there is this space in the Dharma, there’s space in our refuge
  21. for us to pick ourselves up and try again.
  22. For me, when I read and translate, it feels
  23. like I am entering into a different kind of world that is closer to the Buddha.
  24. And that for me is a kind of devotion.
  25. As a lesbian an African American, in Catholicism
  26. I had felt this heavy weight.
  27. And a few years ago I took refuge in the Buddha Dhamma Ganga.
  28. What the value for me is the enduring sense, particularly in Tibetan
  29. Buddhism, of original goodness.
  30. I often contemplate on one teaching that is found in Dhammapada, one of the–
  31. so it’s called handbook of Buddhists.
  32. In general terms, it says you can’t edit your past.
  33. You can’t really be anxious on your future because it’s yet to come.
  34. And just rejoice in the present moment, in the present.
  35. Buddhism comes alive through our actual behavior.
  36. So it’s a constant awareness of what I’m thinking, what I’m saying,
  37. and how I’m actually interacting with people.
  38. We’re constantly being impacted by the causes and conditions of others,
  39. until there’s this glorious and sometimes confusing web of connection.
  40. And that the thing we call ourselves is never ours or our self,
  41. but actually belongs to those in our life.
  42. The idea of attachment, that we get attached to people, to places,
  43. to things, to objects.
  44. And in Buddhism it’s really about letting go all of those things,
  45. including letting go of the idea that we’re not worthy.
  46. Enlightenment can exist in any moment.
  47. In the moment that we’re actually practicing,
  48. that is a moment of enlightenment.
  49. But it’s a lifetime quest.
  50. The work of Buddhism isn’t something you ever accomplish in one life.
  51. But that it extends beyond and before every life.
  52. And it’s just something to step into and invite others into.
  53. I would say that Buddhism is the respect for the dignity of human life.
  54. Buddhism means awakening that teaches you
  55. how to let go and have a peaceful, happy life.
  56. That is Buddhism.
Leave a Reply

