The Land of the Wu 巫

Shamans, Buddhists, and Other Womyn Mystics


Leave a comment

“A bodhisattva’s buddha-field consists of his personal observance of the basic precepts and his restraint in blaming others for their transgressions. When he attains enlightenment, even the wordcrime‘ will never be mentioned in his buddha-field.

In the First Part, Buddha elaborates precepts which made people praise him or the Sangha as worthy of reverrence. The list of Buddha’s Higher Precepts are categorized like this:

Cula Sila

  • 1. Abstain from taking another creature’s life, weapon, violence.
  • 2. Abstain from taking things which were not given.
  • 3. Live soberly, holy, and honest.
  • 4. Abstain from sexual relationship.
  • 5. Not lying.
  • 6. Speak only the truth, believeable and reliable, and never contradicting his own words
  • 7. Abstain from slandering,
  • 8. promote, speak, and love union (harmony) and not division (conflicts)
  • 9. not speaking rough, insulting words. *10. speaking polite, likeable, exact, the right words and able to make people’s heart joyful.
  • 10.not wasting idle time, gossipping,
  • 11.discussing about the Dhamma and Vinaya on the right time
  • 12.discussing in clear, detailed, and understandable words
011664 n.jpg


Majjhima Sila

  • 13.abstain from hurting the seeds, plants, roots, branches, cheating, trading, slavery, forgery, bribery, and criminal conducts
  • 14.abstain from hoarding foods, drinks, clothes (robes), beddings, perfumes, spices, and other tools
  • 15.taking meal once a day,
  • 16.abstain from watching shows (dances, exhibitions, matches, music performances, parade, etc)
  • 17.abstain from playing games (card games, board games, dices, game of chance, racing game, acrobatics, word games, etc)
  • 18.abstain from using luxurious furniture and beddings
  • 19.abstain from using cosmetics, make-up, fancy and luxurious clothes (robes),
  • 20.abstain from discussion about people, politicians, criminals, terrors, food and beverages, clothings, places, families, cities, wars and battles, heroes, ghosts, street rumors, speculation on how the world is created, or about existence and non-existence
  • 21.abstain from accusing or denying or goading or challenging (i.e: ‘I practised this Dhamma devoutly but you don’t!’ or ‘What you utter is old rubbish’ or ‘You are wrong!’ or ‘Free yourself if you can!)
  • 22.abstain from being courier or messengers of politicians or higher administrations
  • 23.abstain from deceiving lay people by uttering spells to exorcise demon or make someone’s fortunate, acting like a holy person by reciting mantras
  1. not to harm living beings
  2. not to steal
  3. to abstain from sexual behaviour
  4. not to lie
  5. not to take alcohol or intoxicating drugs
  6. not to eat after midday
  7. to abstain from dancing, singing and musical entertainment
  8. to abstain from adornment and makeup
  9. not to use high seats or couches
  10. not to use gold and silver i.e. money.

The ten Precepts are most likely meant as a summary of the core precepts to be followed by monastics.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s