The Land of the Wu 巫

Shamans, Buddhists, and Other Womyn Mystics

Sivananda yoga (in 12 minutes)

Leave a comment

M Yoga International

Earlier posts in this series:
Monday, hip-opening poses
Tuesday, vini yoga

Wednesday, flow yoga

Click below for the direct link to the schedules:
Thursday – Sivananda Sun Salutations
Friday – the 12 Sivananda Yoga Poses

For my 28th birthday, my parents gave me my first yoga book. Although I didn’t know it at the time, it was a Sivananda yoga book. One of the characteristics of this lineage, is that it gives you time to relax between all the poses. It therefore had a two pages wide drawing of a practitioner lying on her back, eyes closed. And I remember my father going through the book, with all the seemingly impossible poses, stopping there saying:
“Even I could do that.”

The sequence

Sivananda yoga is one of the three schools that works with a fixed series of exercises (the other two being Ashtanga and Bikram). Founded in 1936 by Swami Sivananda, it…

View original post 140 more words

Leave a Reply

